Site last updated: Saturday, June 25, 2022

Log In

Reset Password
Butler County's great daily newspaper

Student directory

Levi Jackson

Mars Area Middle School eighth-grader Levi Jackson earned high honors in the 2022 Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth (CTY) Talent Search.

Levi’s scores on CTY’s above-grade level entrance exams grant him eligibility to participate in top tier academic programs. He has enrolled in a three-week CTY Computer Science course, to be held in July at Dickinson College in Carlisle.


Four Butler County students took part in the annual white coat ceremony May 1 at St. Francis University in Loretto, marking the end of the first year of training and transition into clinical education. They are Hannah Folk of Chicora, Camryn Skibinski of Grove City, Anna Kampas of Mars, and Michaela Mattivi of Sarver.

The students recited and signed a modern version of the Hippocratic Oath, which reminded them of the vow to provide ethical, confidential, and compassionate care to the patient. Forty-eight students were presented with and donned their white lab coats to affirm their role as future health care providers. The class will graduate with a Master of Physician Assistant Science degree in May 2023, following one year of full-time clinical rotations.


Three Butler County high school students were named National Merit $2,500 Scholarship winners by the National Merit Scholarship Corp.

The 2,500 Merit Scholar designees were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding finalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program. Finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

The students are: Aaron J. Jackson of Grove City, Rebekah E. Kalberer of Butler and Emma A. Ventresca of Gibsonia.


Lebanon Valley College in Annville inducted Rochelle Wigton, of Butler, into its chapter of Sigma Alpha Pi honor society.

Wigton, a graduate of Butler Area Senior High School, is pursuing a bachelor of arts in criminal justice at LVC.

Students of Sigma Alpha Pi are selected for induction based on their GPA and level of involvement.


Four Slippery Rock University students were recently were initiated into the honor society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines.

They are: Kerem Dogan of Slippery Rock, Adriana Gonzalez Sanchez of Slippery Rock, Krista White of Slippery Rock and Kara Sroka of Valencia.

They are among approximately 25,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership.


JACKSON TOWNSHIP — The Seneca Valley Academic Decathlon placed tenth in the nation and earned four individual national medals at the United States Academic Decathlon (USAD) National Competition.

Back in March, the SV Academic Decathlon team took first place at the (USAD) State Competition in Philadelphia, which advanced them to represent Pennsylvania for the USAD National Competition which was held virtually, April 21-23.

The top high school per state qualified for Nationals, and students competed virtually for all 10 events (including Speech and Interview via Zoom).

In addition to placing tenth in the nation, Ava Stewart, junior won the bronze Science Honor and the Highest Scoring Team Member award, Rayan Ghaffar, senior earned the silver for Essay Scholastic, Katherine Hilling, junior won the silver for Interview Varsity and Nancy Chen, junior won Most Valuable Team Member award.

The Seneca Valley Academic Decathlon team members include Ava Stewart, Nicholas Nedzesky, Ashley Kemp, Nancy Chen, Quang Nguyen, Rayan Ghaffar, Shivani Umesh, Shanker Pillai and Katherine Hilling.

Seneca Valley High School Decathlon Team members, are, from left, Ava Stewart, Nicholas Nedzesky, Ashley Kemp, Nancy Chen, Quang Nguyen, Rayan Ghaffar, Shivani Umesh, Shanker Pillai and Katherine Hilling. Submitted photo