Site last updated: Monday, July 15, 2024

Log In

Reset Password
Butler County's great daily newspaper

Firecracker 100: Ricky Thornton Jr. becomes 6th driver to win Lernerville Speedway showcase twice

BUFFALO TWP — Ricky Thornton Jr. joined select company in winning the Firecracker 100 Saturday night at Lernerville Speedway.

The Martinsville, Ind., driver won the 100-lap race and the $50,000 prize that goes with it for the second successive year. Five other drivers — Scott Bloomquist (three times), Tim McCreadie, Brandon Overton, Cade Dillard and Jimmy Mars — have won the event twice in its 18-year history.

Thornton, also the Lucas Oil Late Model Series points leader, passed Mike Marlar early in the race and cruised to victory by more than 10 seconds.

Devin Moran finished second with Marlar, Jonathan Davenport and Drake Troutman rounding out the top five.

Thornton also won one of the two 25-lap features Thursday night, receiving $5,000 for that triumph. Marlar finished second in that race. Jonathan Davenport beat out Chub Frank to win the other 25-lap feature Thursday.

Mason Zeigler and Davenport won the 25-lap features Friday night.

Dave Hess Jr. won the Bill Emig Memorial — a 50-lap RUSH Late Model race paying $20,000 to win — Saturday night at Lernerville. He passed Max Blair and Bryce Davis on the final lap to secure that victory.

Ricky Thornton Jr. celebrates after winning the Firecracker 100 race at Lernerville Speedway on Saturday, June 22, 2024. Justin Guido/Special to the Eagle

More in Sports

Subscribe to our Daily Newsletter

* indicates required