Site last updated: Thursday, May 26, 2022

Log In

Reset Password
Butler County's great daily newspaper

SR athletes earn all-region honors

SLIPPERY ROCK — Shane Thompson was District 10, Region 2 Baseball Player of the Year and Maryann Ackerman was Region Co-Girls Track Athlete of the Year as the district announced its spring all-star teams over the weekend.

Thompson made first team in baseball as a first baseman and pitcher. Rocket teammate Colin McCune made first team as a utility player.

Catcher Nick Ayres and outfielder Ryan Montgomery made second team for Slippery Rock baseball.

Two Rocket softball players made Region 4 second team — pitcher Paige Gresgott and catcher Samantha Meredith.

In boys track, 300-meter hurdler Zach Mazor, triple jumper Ethan Folmer and discus thrower Seaton Wozniak made Region 2 first team. Mazor (110 hurdles), Folmer (high jump)and Wozniak (shot put) all made second team, as did pole vaulter Cullen Birkes.

In girls track, Ackerman made first team Region 2 in the discus, shot put and javelin. SR’s Anna Kadlubek made first team in the 100 and 200 meters, Gianna Bedel in the long jump.

Kadlubek made second team in the 400, Bedel in the triple and high jumps, Natalie Double in the javelin.

The Rockets’ 400-meter relay uinit of Audrey Kura, Bedel, Alexandrea Popovec and Kadlubek made second team, as did SR’s 3,2000- meter relay team of Marie Bickel, Ashley Shea, Lexi Doreflinger and Samantha Frazier.