Butler County's great daily newspaper

Smith defeats Donaldson in Butler mayoral primary

May 16, 2017 News Extra

Advertisement | Advertise Here
Ben Smith

Butler will have a new mayor next year.

Based on unofficial results, Ben Smith defeated incumbent Tom Donaldson and Michael Walter in the Republican primary of the mayoral election. Smith finished with 372 vote, while Donaldson came in second with 223 and Walter tallied 98.

Smith will face Jamie Lee Goehring in the general election. Goehring ran unopposed in the Democratic primary, winning 430 votes against 94 write-ins.

Incumbent Kathy Kline finished first in the Democratic primary in the city council election, getting 338 votes. Incumbent Kenny Bonus also made it to the general election, with 296 votes, while Dane Winkler tallied 274 votes and did not advance.

Republican Jim Kemple ran unopposed in the Republican primary for city council, with 453 votes.

The write-in total is 302. Former city treasurer Jeff Smith announced Monday he would run as a write-in candidate, and he needed at least 100 votes to make it to the general election. At this time it is unclear how many write-in votes were for Smith.

Share this article: