March 6, 2013

SV students earn merit finalist status

JACKSON TWP — Seneca Valley seniors Katherine Miller and Dhruv Kohli have been named finalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program.

They are part of an elite group of students chosen for this national program and are now eligible for thousands of dollars in national merit scholarships. Scholarship winners later this spring.

'Keys' awarded to SV art students

JACKSON TWP — More than 30 gold and silver keys, in addition to honorable mentions, were awarded to Seneca Valley students at the regional Scholastic Art Awards Competition held at LaRoche College.

This national and well respected visual art competition identifies outstanding student artwork. The exhibit was displayed until Feb. 24 at the La Roche College Student Union Building, Ross Township.

Honorable mentions include juniors Kim Greenstein and seniors Marissa Altemus, Adam Barbe (three pieces), Mary Gaston, Beth Holl, Sarah Koenig, Zoe Dilts (six pieces), Leah Kallop, Kelly Pfab, Eric Dillman, Olivia Foss, Alanna Moeller, Jael Shatlock, Rachel McAndrews, Morgan Peaco and Sarah Johnson.

Silver Key Awards go to juniors Brooke Audino, Mickey Busa, Angela Mignanelli, Dana Sabol and Mary Gaston. Senior silver key award winners include Melanie Baer, Olivia Foss, Kelly Pfab, Matt Cully, Eric Dillman, Blake Evans and Rachel Leake

Gold Key Awards go to junior Kyle Snyder (two pieces); and seniors Gabrielle Nicklas, Hannah O'Donoghue, Kelly Pfab, Blake Evans, Gabrielle Nicklas and Rachel Trimble.