SV students make Honors Band
January 2, 2013

JACKSON TWP — More than 40 Seneca Valley students have earned a position in the 2012 Pennsylvania Music Educators Association District 5 Honors Band.

Auditions were held on Nov. 13 for the Honors Band at Westminster College, and 43 students from Seneca Valley School District were selected out of 278 students from 25 different schools to be a part of the 120-member band. Seneca Valley had more students selected than any other school. Seneca Valley students also earned the most first chairs and the most Automatic District Band chairs of any other school.

District 5 is comprised of all school districts in Beaver, Butler, Lawrence and Mercer counties. The Honors Band participated in a three-day festival that concluded with a concert in Orr Auditorium at Westminster College on Dec. 8.

The instrumental music faculty includes Robert Matchett III, Varden Armstrong, Jr., Robert Babick, and Sara Snyder.

The following students were chosen to join the Honors Band:

Madalyn Fritch, Marcus Musulin, Alyssa Grasso, Leah Marofsky, Joshua Zahren, Sarah Johanknecht, Alex Bark, Hayeon Park, Sarah Kochis, Adehl Schwaderer, Daniella Ortiz, Ian Ferraro, Steven Lippold, Stefany Baron, Dan Singer, Julia Scanlan, Alex Taylor, Rebecca Danik, Conner Thompson, Matthew Ruwe, Eli Coyle, Jeremiah Scanlan, Jonathan Selling, Mitchell Weaver, Daniel Collier, Adam Johanknecht, Daniel Eppler, Christina Otteni, Lauren Agnello, Martin Chrzanowski, Patrick O’Connor, Natalie Byers, Nikkolas Paserba, Bethany Sager, Nathaniel Fritch, Matthew Tice, Kathryn Kolor, Samuel West, Aaron Jackson, Courtney Wahlstrom, Hayden Goodzinski, Brendan Kennelty, and Alexandra Steighner.